.

Traducir al espanõl

 

CHS Information Update (4/3/2020):

Students needing computer support must take their computer to our District Office: 1402 West King St. as Carson High School will not be accessible after 3/27/2020.  The Technology Kiosk will be open on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:00 am to 1:30 pm. Or students can email for help at StudentHelpDesk@carson.k12.nv.us.

CHS will be closed from 4/1-4/30. 


All Nevada Schools are closed by order of Governor Sisolak until April 30, 2020. Spring Break will occur as scheduled from 4/13/2020 - 4/17/2020.  Teachers and staff will not provide digital learning opportunities that week and the office/school will be closed.  


Message from Principal Ward -

Carson High School Senators and Families:

I hope you and your family are safe and healthy. I know that the current school closure has been difficult for both families and our students. I am contacting you to inform you that our teachers plan to support student learning using Google Classroom while the school is closed. Teachers will be accessible to their students during their regular classroom days and hours through the use of email, Google Classroom, or Google Meet. This timeframe will be outlined by each teacher in Google Classroom.

Students will need to have access to their Chromebook and their school email accounts. Please have your student check Google Classroom and their school email this week. There is a link labeled Distance Learning Access on this website with instructions for students that need assistance logging into email or Google Classroom.

Carson High School offices will be closed April 1 – April 30.  There will be staff members monitoring phone calls.  You can also contact us via email at:

Administrative Secretary – Kim Arnold – karnold@carson.k12.nv.us
Infinite Campus/login info – Lavon Sollberger – lsollberger@carson.k12.nv.us
Attendance Office
Grace Greener – ggreener@carson.k12.nv.us
Cathy Atchian – catchian@carson.k12.nv.us
Patty Bean – pbean@carson.k12.nv.us
Guidance Office
Lynn Garrett – lgarrett@carson.k12.nv.us
Gina Romero – gromero@carson.k12.nv.us
Athletics – Laurie Sheets – lsheets@carson.k12.nv.us
CTE – Charleen Lawson – clawson@carson.k12.nv.us
Library – Ananda Campbell – acampbell@carson.k12.nv.us
TechnologyStudentHelpDesk@carson.k12.nv.us
Hispanic Liaison – Leticia Servin –lservin@carson.k12.nv.us
Principal – Gavin Ward – gward@carson.k12.nv.us
Vice Principal – Amy Freismidl – afreismidl@carson.k12.nv.us
Vice Principal – Bob Chambers – bchambers@carson.k12.nv.us
Dean of Student – Jon “Shelby” Tuttle – jtuttle@carson.k12.nv.us
Dean of Student – MaryAnne Weaver – maweaver@carson.k12.nv.us
Dean of Student - Shauna Wooldridge – swooldridge@carson.k12.nv.us

If you have any technology issues (broken Chromebook, charger, etc…) email StudentHelpDesk@carson.k12.nv.us or visit the district office at 1402 W. King Street. 



Senior Project Revised Information (new 4/6/20)

Seniors, Parents, Guardians and the CHS Community:

Due to the continued stay-at-home orders, the Senior Project Committee has moved the speeches and portfolio presentations to an online format during the week of
May 18-May 22.  This date was chosen to avoid conflicts with junior and senior AP testing that take place from May 11th-22nd. Students who are enrolled in AP Literature will present to their English teacher from May 18th through May 27th.

Today’s complications have forced us to remove the role of advisers for this year. Instead, projects will be presented in senior English teachers’ “classrooms.” 

Teachers will confirm the use of cameras and mics with their students so that speeches and portfolios can be orally and visually presented.

Teachers are also developing plans to schedule students in small virtual group presentations and to use rubrics for evaluations.

With all the disruption and disappointment the Class of 2020 has experienced because of the pandemic, it is important for CHS to acknowledge the work, the commitment and the time that this class gave to their projects. And while the projects will be presented in this modified format, CHS is committed to the graduation of this senior class.

Patt Quinn-Davis

Senior Project Committee


Senior Project Update

Seniors:The new dates to submit your portfolios to your English teacher will be April 29-30. These replace previous dates of April 23-24. 

Again, understand that as new information regarding the pandemic’s effects unfold, this information can be updated.

 


Digital Expectations for CHS Students (click to read)
(Message from Gavin W Principal, 3/20/2020)


Distance Learning - ACCESS Instructions

Check Infinite Campus portal via app or Carson City School District website for

Click here for instructions for Distance Learning - ACCESS Instructions.



The CHS Counseling Department has setup a School Counseling & School Social Worker/Mental Health Worker Support Website that has information to support you, answer questions and hold our meetings digitally. The website also has information about technology services, community resources, and self-care.

CHS Counseling & Support Services Website


 

Welcome to Carson High School

Carson High School is one of the top ranked high schools in Nevada. From our excellent student body, to the state-of-the-art Technology Center, we strive to ensure academic, social, and life-time excellence for all of our students. All visitors must check in at the main office to receive a visitors badge. CHS does not allow non-students to attend classes. In order to be on campus during school hours you must have a visitor's badge.


Mission Statement

Carson High School challenges and supports students to achieve their greatest potential for future success.


Paging Protocol

Parents/Guardians of Carson High School Students -

In an effort to minimize disruptions to the educational environment, Carson High School will no longer page students over the intercom. If you are dropping off items/lunch/notes to your student, please contact them and have them stop by the attendance office during breaks. If your student must leave during the day for any reason (medical, dental, appointment, etc.) please send your student with a note or call the attendance office the day before your student leaves.

Carson High School strives to keep a quiet peaceful learning environment for all students. Thank you for your continued cooperation.


Attendance Information:

Attendance & Finals:

Parents, students will not be called out of class early during semester finals or high stakes testing (ACT/End of Course, etc.). Take into consideration that calling into a classroom can disrupt the testing environment for students that are still testing. After testing, parents wanting to check out students will need to come to the school to check out their child. Thank you for your anticipated cooperation.


Chromebook Information

Chromebook checkout for continued summer use.

Parents and Students,

What are the repair fees for Chromebook damage?Repair fee (per repair) regardless of damage or cause..........$20

  • Lost/broken AC adapter/charger..........$20
  • Identification sticker/label replacement..........$5
  • Lost or broken clamshell cover..........$15
  • Lost, non-repairable or stolen Chromebook..........$300
  • If you have a power cord that does not belong to you, bring it to the library. If your missing power cord is turned in, a message will be sent to you. During Chromebook returns, if your power cord does not have a barcode to match the Chromebook, you will be charged a $20 replacement fee.

    The Carson City School District does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability and age, and it provides equal access to the Boy Scouts of America and other designated youth groups.  The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the District’s non-discrimination policies: Title IX and 504 Coordinator, 1402 W. King Street, Carson City, NV 89703, (775) 283-2130.

    ^